It is currently Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:58 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:29 pm
Posts: 22
Location: North Carolina
Now that Rezeero is up and running, and we're seeing blue streaks as we explore around D'ni, I was wondering if we will be calibrating it (like in PoTS).

Or is it, like another explorer advised, already calibrated?

_________________
Image
JeanneM from North Carolina, USA
KI# 4515609
Visit JGGL.NET - my site for Adventure Games


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:58 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:48 am
Posts: 935
Location: Northern Colorado
It's calibrated.. Laxman announced that there was a spike in marker missions, and *poof* it was magically done!


It would be nice if the calibration would 'decay' periodically, and require re-calibration. :lol:

_________________
Ki #782729
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:19 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:17 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Spokane, WA
Given that we're still missing marker game types (specifically, the more competitive "capture" types) and that the coordinates aren't functioning in other Ages yet, I'd venture to say the GZ calibration isn't done yet, though I hope that user-created games get taken into account when dealing with calibration accuracy in the future... not everyone wants to run the 14 the GZ provides ;).

May be why Laxman hasn't bumped the completion meter yet even though the darn thing's spinning.

_________________
Grand Master
Guild of Archivists


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:57 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America
You can just look at the reading in the city silo and see it's not calibrated. :p


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:27 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
Great Zero pellets now? :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:10 am
Posts: 792
Location: Oz
Tofer wrote:
It would be nice if the calibration would 'decay' periodically, and require re-calibration. :lol:

Laxman did say that he'd appreciate it if we continued to run CGZM missions from time to time, to keep the GZ calibrated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:44 pm
Posts: 123
Location: (n.) a place where something is or could be located; a site.
JeanneM wrote:
Now that Rezeero is up and running, and we're seeing blue streaks as we explore around D'ni, I was wondering if we will be calibrating it (like in PoTS).

Or is it, like another explorer advised, already calibrated?

The GZ itself is calibrated, but you have to do the GZ marker quests in order to calibrate your own KI.

[spoiler=If you finish the red and green quests...]...you will be able to create your own marker quests.[/spoiler]
[spoiler=If you finish the (yellow) calibration quests...]...you will enable the GPS functions on your KI[/spoiler]

_________________
KI#: 458684
Help in the fight against cancer, Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, and
many other deadly diseases with your computer's spare power.
Please visit http://folding.stanford.edu for more details.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 25
Swimmery4 wrote:
If you finish the (yellow) calibration quests...

Please tell a newbie how to start the yellow marker quest. I've finished the green and red.

_________________
_iceman_
KI# 07168689


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:21 am
Posts: 508
Go to the Great Zero and there are 4 machines at the far end. Activate any of them (they're all the same) and then pick one of the 14 missions


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:12 pm
Posts: 2190
Location: Houston
Once your finished with the red set, and have it loaded in the KI station in the GZ courtyard......

Just walk past the big spinning beam emiter over the pool in the center of the room, and through the doors on the far side of where you linked in to the GZ.

In the GZ Cathedral there are four KI stations pick on and your on your way.

P.S. All four stations display the same set of missions so no worries on which you pick.

_________________
Waymet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 975
Location: Ethereal Plane of Atrii
IngisKahn wrote:
You can just look at the reading in the city silo and see it's not calibrated. :p

Care to explain what you mean by that? I'm getting coordinates in the silo. Are some people not getting them? Or do you believe the unusual height coordinate is the result of miscalibration? If so, why?

_________________
Image
*SLMW 1.0* No animals were harmed in the production of this message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:38 pm 
Offline
Creative Kingdoms

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 6235
Location: Everywhere, all at once
Alahmnat wrote:
May be why Laxman hasn't bumped the completion meter yet even though the darn thing's spinning.

Isn't this an OOC forum? :P We suspect it's because no one at Cyan had the time to bump the meter. So why should we think the lake light level is going to be any different?

The magical "poof" to GZ calibration simply because Cyan thought it was time and not becuase we had anything to do with it is of great concern to many of us.

I want to see GZ calibration and lake pellets really integrated and automated into the game mechanics so Cyan doesn't have to maintain it. I want to see where we must maintain them or they degrade over time. I want to see this also tied into each hood so that hoods, for example, are responsible for maintaining their own GZ, or lake.

When we know Cyan can just flip the switch when it's time for the story, the meaning and purpose is lost on running the missions or baking the pellets.

_________________
OpenUru.org: An Uru Project Resource Site : Twitter : Make a commitment.
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:14 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:01 pm
Posts: 1890
"We suspect it's because no one at Cyan had the time to bump the meter."

I suspect a lot of things. It could have been that Cyan didn't make the effort. It could have been technical problems. It could have been that they had an honest standard for how much to bump it per marker mission, and they *stuck to that*, right up until Ep6 began.

The fact that the GZ imager is still low, despite the Big Bump, argues for technical problems.

"So why should we think the lake light level is going to be any different?"

Two obvious reasons: The lake meter (although not the illumination level itself) is a new mechanism. And it was created after the entire GZ experience began. Cyan has now seen what the falloff curve is between the first flush of work (in a content release) and the weeks that follow.

Those are not reasons that the lake is *going to be* different. They're reasons that it *won't necessarily be the same*. The lake is a new event, and Cyan *does* change their approach from month to month.

_________________
Andrew Plotkin -- Seltani founding member


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:46 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:33 pm
Posts: 878
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA USA
BrettM wrote:
IngisKahn wrote:
You can just look at the reading in the city silo and see it's not calibrated. :p

Care to explain what you mean by that? I'm getting coordinates in the silo. Are some people not getting them? Or do you believe the unusual height coordinate is the result of miscalibration? If so, why?


I think he was referring to the fact that the coordinates in the silo would place you far below lake level. Among other problems...

_________________
MOULa KI #32712
MOULa KI #23298
MOUL KI #35129
D'mala KI #74265
Gehn KI #10113


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 975
Location: Ethereal Plane of Atrii
Deledrius wrote:
I think he was referring to the fact that the coordinates in the silo would place you far below lake level. Among other problems...

The position below the level of the main lake is not necessarily a calibration error. Looking at the history of the district, there are good reasons why the D'ni might have wanted it that way. What are these other problems?

_________________
Image
*SLMW 1.0* No animals were harmed in the production of this message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron