It is currently Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:30 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:22 pm
Posts: 520
Location: relto
well if any of you avid programer types are out there I found this program it seems nice, but its mainly for accual webcams. Theres suppose to be source code availible.

Check it out here it seems to be an old project. Most of the links there seem to be broken. if anyone wants they could probley make it usefull


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:42 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:49 am
Posts: 691
Location: Fairhaven, MA
I have mine set up here:

D'ni expletive Party CavernCam.

I just need to make sure it doesn't use too much bandwidth.

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Plymouth, England
ok I keep getting an error after the first time the CavernCam program uploads a image it says

Quote:
Could not upload date to the caverncam directory on the FTP site.


I know the image is getting there since my test place is showing it does anyone have any ideas (oh this is a great idea btw)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:56 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:49 am
Posts: 691
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Stevecrox wrote:
ok I keep getting an error after the first time the CavernCam program uploads a image it says

Quote:
Could not upload date to the caverncam directory on the FTP site.


I know the image is getting there since my test place is showing it does anyone have any ideas (oh this is a great idea btw)


I got that error a few times before I got the settings right. I moved the picture folder and then I had the password wrong. Same error message for two different errors.

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:03 pm
Posts: 53
Mac Users:
Not exactly a CavernCam, Snapz Pro X 2.1.0 supposedly allows you to create animations of games. For OS 10.3.9 or higher.

http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/.

_________________
Image
3d IMAGES! GreenWEEK, a GrassRoots effort, GoGREEN! next event tba


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:51 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 703
Location: Virginia, US
Donahoo: Great job! I've added a link to your site on the CavernCam community site.

Stevecrox: the uploader generates a date.txt file that it uploads to your web site; eventually, the web sites will display the date of the image along with the image. Double-check your FTP settings in the uploader. Let me know if you have any other issues.

_________________
KI #: 1299


Last edited by Robert The Rebuilder on Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:53 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:49 am
Posts: 691
Location: Fairhaven, MA
I will try to participate in the next story episode and broadcast it but usually those things happen while I am at work. :oops:

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:03 pm
Posts: 53
Kudos to both Robert and Donahoo. I can't wait to see both sites in action.

MAC: Although this is a bit off topic, I hope you don't mind me sharing it here, since I can't find anything for the Mac to make CavernCam's.

Using Snapz Pro X (Shareware, 1st month free trail), results:
[spoiler=Movie of Relto; 3.5MB MOV file; give it 25 seconds to load; click on link below:]http://www.drawingstudio.com/zzzmisc/uru/urumisc/movies/relto.mov[/spoiler]
Settings: 16 fps; 4:3 aspect ratio; 25% screen size; cropped final movie; Sorenson3 compression (very important); key frames=128.

I think the image quality and sound are great, but at 3.5MB the files could get very large very fast. Although it is pretty easy to imagine the effects of using less than a million colors, no sound, 12 fps instead of 16, fewer key frames (say 500) and finally a smaller image size. I don't know why there is a black edge on one side in the movie, but then, I've only been using the program for 30 minutes. Edit: I forgot to mention, you can download the movie (lower right arrow on movie) and Cmd-F for full screen mode. enjoy.

_________________
Image
3d IMAGES! GreenWEEK, a GrassRoots effort, GoGREEN! next event tba


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:15 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 703
Location: Virginia, US
Arcuru: if you can figure out how to get Snaps Pro X to do automatic snapshots, I'd be more than happy to list those Mac-specific instructions on my how-to page.

The more people we can enable with CavernCams, the more coverage of the upcoming Live episode we'll get.

_________________
KI #: 1299


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:22 pm
Posts: 520
Location: relto
robert: I've downloaded it and it keeps giving me this

could not upload image to the caverncam directory on the ftp site.


I checked the dos window and it had this.
Code:


F:\websites\newsite\newsite2\flashsite\URUCAM\urucam\CavernCamUploader>java -jar
 caverncamuploader.jar
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
        at caverncamuploader.Main._uploadingToggleButtonActionPerformed(Main.jav
a:514)
        at caverncamuploader.Main.showError(Main.java:227)
        at caverncamuploader.Main$FtpThread$2.run(Main.java:706)
        at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)




I have the directory named uru on my ftp server and my ftp username and password. Could it be where I have the images saved. Also in the Html what filename should I use? fraps makes a long file name.

I've tried to access FTP server with IE and its fine, I even tried windows explorer and it worked fine using username.yourdomain.com

Now my ftp access has you to use the username and the domain name as a username. it doesnt do it automaticly. I've tried both and still get same error. for me to log in I have to do this username.yourdomain.com to log in.

does it matter or does your jar file do it for me?

Edit: well I got it to finnally work. I had something messed up at the ftp server.

Also when I get the error it freezes and I have to restart it :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:17 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 703
Location: Virginia, US
Goofy: glad that you got everything working. I guess the application does not exit cleanly when it encounters an FTP error; I'll see if I can make a bug fix soon.

Would you like to share the URL of your CavernCam site? The more people we have covering this week's events, the better.

_________________
KI #: 1299


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Plymouth, England
I've found a freeware replacement for Camzor.class it seems to work fine for me

Right click here and goto Save As

The software is listed as freeware with only one stipulation that the copyright information stay intact which means we can distribute it (I've been checking the freeware licenses.)

The codes very similar the source for my testing model is:

Quote:
<html>
<head>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
<title>TCT Test cam based on Robert The Rebuilder's work</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#000000" text="#ffffff" STYLE="background-color:#000000; OVERFLOW: hidden;">
<h2><center>TCT Test cam based on Robert The Rebuilder's work</center></h2>

<hr>
<DIV STYLE="left:0px; width:800; height:600">
<!-- APPLET Start //-->
<APPLET code="G3webcam.class" codebase="http://www.thecaverntoday.com/TCTCam/" width=800 height=600>
<PARAM name="imgurl" value="http://www.thecaverntoday.com/TCTCam/image.jpg">
<PARAM name="interval" value="1000">
<PARAM name="copyright" value="www.ct-tech.de">
</APPLET>
<!-- APPLET Ende //-->

</DIV>
<hr>
<center>Image from <a href=http://www.mystonline.com>Myst Online : Uru Live</a>.Myst, Riven and D'ni are trademarks or registered trademarks of Cyan, Inc. URU is a trademark of Cyan Worlds, Inc. All rights reserved. </center>
</body>


The information in bold is the stuff you will need to personalise

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:11 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 703
Location: Virginia, US
Thanks for the info about the applet, Steve! I'm currently working on writing my own applet to get around the public release issues, and to simplify the installation/setup process.

In the meantime, I've made a new version (v1.1) of the CavernCamUploader:

- It now has a checkbox for enabling the uploading of the image date information; by default, this is disabled
- The application will not lock up when an FTP error occurs.

_________________
KI #: 1299


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:02 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:49 am
Posts: 691
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Robert, do we need the new version if the old one is working?

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:39 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm
Posts: 703
Location: Virginia, US
Nope.

_________________
KI #: 1299


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: