It is currently Thu Oct 01, 2020 7:14 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Crying my eyes out.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 181
Well, it looks like I will not be able to be joining you all in the cavern. I just found out my computer's OS is not supported by GameTap, nor are there any plans for it to be supported anytime in the future.

I'm guessing there is no way around this, is there?

Jairden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:51 am
Posts: 517
just because it's not supported does not mean it won't run the program. not supported means that if you have technical issues, they won't provide assistance to fix them.

i'd give it a shot anyhoo!!!

_________________
Image ki #101936


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
What's your OS?

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:20 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:06 am
Posts: 120
It's very possible that in the future, other OSes will be supported. Have faith!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 181
I'm running Windows XP Pro x64. And even installing GameTap won't work on it, so I'm rather SOL until they get it going for Linux. And the service rep I talked to said there were no plans to get it XP x64 compatible...probably because of Windows Vista coming out. I'm probably going to get it humming over the break on an older computer...but I'm not sure if it will even be able to run it. Hopefully I'll see you all in the cavern eventually.

Jairden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:38 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:11 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
If you have an older Windows OS, you'll probably be able to pick up XP for very cheap once Vista comes out in a few weeks.

_________________
Play Blue Lacuna


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:41 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Three Lakes, WI, USA
What's the difference between Windows XP and Windows XP x64?

_________________
KI: 00329185


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:54 am
Posts: 41
Location: Texas
xp 64 is the 64 bit version (RAM allocation is up to a Terabyte i believe..)

anyways...

are you able to run the client in 32 compatibiliy mode? i know there's some tricks to getting things to run on it, my bro has xp64 but i haven't played with it much to know the funn in's and out's of it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:29 am
Posts: 132
I'm running WinXP 64 and URU Live fine, though I can't get Gametap's software installed I downloaded the client from the setup/beta process through their website (myst_online_beta.exe) and installed that, it runs fine and I can play.

FTLNewsFeed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
R.T. wrote:
xp 64 is the 64 bit version (RAM allocation is up to a Terabyte i believe..)

anyways...

are you able to run the client in 32 compatibiliy mode? i know there's some tricks to getting things to run on it, my bro has xp64 but i haven't played with it much to know the funn in's and out's of it.


Unless I'm mistaken, XP x64's RAM allocation is based on a 64 bit processor. By my calculations, a 64 bit processor should have the allocation space available for, in fact, 16 EXAbytes of RAM. Now see, an exabyte is roughly a million terabytes... (specifically 1048576 terabytes)

That is a FLABBERGASTINGLY large amount of RAM.

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
Maratanos wrote:
R.T. wrote:
xp 64 is the 64 bit version (RAM allocation is up to a Terabyte i believe..)

anyways...

are you able to run the client in 32 compatibiliy mode? i know there's some tricks to getting things to run on it, my bro has xp64 but i haven't played with it much to know the funn in's and out's of it.


Unless I'm mistaken, XP x64's RAM allocation is based on a 64 bit processor. By my calculations, a 64 bit processor should have the allocation space available for, in fact, 16 EXAbytes of RAM. Now see, an exabyte is roughly a million terabytes... (specifically 1048576 terabytes)

That is a FLABBERGASTINGLY large amount of RAM.


The address ceiling is at 48-bit, not 64-bit.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 12:01 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 2266
Location: Tigard, OR
Jairden,

Try what FTLNewsFeed said. Grab the standalone client rather than trying to play the game through GameTap, and you should at least be able to play Uru even if you cannot get the rest of GameTap for now.

I'm curious why you're running WinXP64 on a home computer though. WinXP 32-bit runs just fine on the same computers, so I've stuck with that even on my AMD 64 x2 computer... because I am concerned about compatibility issues exactly like this one.

_________________
MOULa KI: 26838 | Prologue Videos | Visit rel.to to explore Myst, Uru, and D'ni communities!
Click here for social/game profiles


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
chucker wrote:
Maratanos wrote:
R.T. wrote:
xp 64 is the 64 bit version (RAM allocation is up to a Terabyte i believe..)

anyways...

are you able to run the client in 32 compatibiliy mode? i know there's some tricks to getting things to run on it, my bro has xp64 but i haven't played with it much to know the funn in's and out's of it.


Unless I'm mistaken, XP x64's RAM allocation is based on a 64 bit processor. By my calculations, a 64 bit processor should have the allocation space available for, in fact, 16 EXAbytes of RAM. Now see, an exabyte is roughly a million terabytes... (specifically 1048576 terabytes)

That is a FLABBERGASTINGLY large amount of RAM.


The address ceiling is at 48-bit, not 64-bit.


Okay, in that case, it's 256 terabytes. Still quite a lot.

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 181
Thank you for the info about the stand-alone. It makes me feel much better about stuff!

As for why I'm running XP x64. When I got this particular computer, my family didn't actually own a ..legitimate...copy of regular XP, and I did want to have a legally purchased OS. My computer whiz of a brother suggested XP x64, so I went with that. Oops..lol.

Jairden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: