It is currently Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:58 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: GameTap required?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:27 pm
Posts: 22
Hi all. I just noticed that the site's welcome page lists the USA as one of the "international" locations where URU will be available stand-alone. :?
I'm guessing it is just a typo, but it would be cool if it is true: I'm not too happy with their customer service right now. :x


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
You'd have to deal with their customer service no matter what; GameTap is the payment/subscription handler internationally, regardless of availability of GameTap's own software.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 12:21 pm
Posts: 1769
Location: Carthage, Tunisia
That's odd... I've always had a good experience with the GameTap Tech Support team.


But it's not a typo; that's all where it's available. Canada is a GT country too.

_________________
Fi copil din nou, joaca jocuri logice si alte puzzle-uri noi in fiecare zi mii de jocuri gratis pe cujocuri un site facut de jucatori pentru jucator.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:14 am
Posts: 237
Location: New Hampshire, USA
I've had a good experience with their techs too, plus GameTap rocks all!

_________________
KI#: 00209201


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:55 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1409
Location: Canadian lost in Nebraska
There is a typo on the main page... the problem is that the US is listed as one of the countries supporting Uru Live as a standalone client... in addition to being listed as one of the two countries offering Uru through GameTap. It's not supposed to be on the "international" list.

Mentioned it to GreyDragon. He said he'd have a look at it...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:21 am
Posts: 1224
I thought in the US you could get it in standalone without Gametap, but it cost the same. If not, there's always the, erm, "immoral" way of launching it without Gametap.

_________________
KI #00072427[Kedry]
Image
"Conjecture is not fact, and opinion is not fact, and no matter how many times you say it, it doesn't make it true." - Shaun Lyon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:10 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1409
Location: Canadian lost in Nebraska
Well, yes... Cyan is really leaving it up to us to do the honorable thing. While it is technically possible for North Americans to access Uru Live outside of GameTap (after signing up for GameTap and downloading it through GameTap), Cyan really wants us to log in through the GameTap interface so that GameTap gets accurate numbers about how many people are accessing Uru Live. (Let's keep it number 1!)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
Someone with the knowledge please clarify something for me. I have an account with GameTap and downloaded URU through their interface. Once it was downloaded I went into the GameTap folder for URU on my computer and made a shortcut to the URULauncher.exe for my desktop. Now I can enter URU without having to open GameTap.

My question is this - since when I click on the URU icon I still have to enter my GameTap username and password - am I not then being counted by GameTap as entering URU? If not, then where or how else would they be making their count?

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm
Posts: 3120
Location: Aachen, Germany
Kero wrote:
Someone with the knowledge please clarify something for me. I have an account with GameTap and downloaded URU through their interface. Once it was downloaded I went into the GameTap folder for URU on my computer and made a shortcut to the URULauncher.exe for my desktop. Now I can enter URU without having to open GameTap.


Cyan has asked us *not* to use the short cut.

_________________
Image
[KI again #01792364]| Uru images | KI guide


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:55 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:53 am
Posts: 859
Kero wrote:
My question is this - since when I click on the URU icon I still have to enter my GameTap username and password - am I not then being counted by GameTap as entering URU? If not, then where or how else would they be making their count?


Gametap records gameplay statistics using the Gametap client, not through the Uru login, therefore if you are not going through the Gametap client, then Gametap isn't tracking if/how long you're playing.

It is in Uru's best interest for players to go through Gametap, we need to keep Uru #1 on the most played list.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
The Uru servers must track it too, how else do they track the international player usage statistics?

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:09 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:01 pm
Posts: 1890
I agree that all player logins must be tracked in the Uru servers somewhere. That doesn't mean that it's easy to pull it out and merge it with Gametap's regular game-tracking.

But this is all speculation. What Cyan has actually *said* is: "...you should be using the GameTap Interface to log into the game This is an important test for us to make sure that server handling is up to par. I realize that this may mean a long download but the load and feedback we can get while doing this is invaluable to us."

See http://urulive.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5707

_________________
Andrew Plotkin -- Seltani founding member


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
belford wrote:


WARNING! Unless you are using urulive.com (not www.urulive.com) don't follow this link. Instead go to

http://www.urulive.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5707

or

http://www.mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5707

Disregarding this notice may cause cookie trouble, leading to you leaping between sites at unwanted times.

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:51 pm
Posts: 11
Yes. Don't jeopardize URU. I lived through the first shut-down. I'd prefer not to do it again. And I am sure I am not alone... :!:

_________________
Frodo
A Hobbit in D'ni

Sil_Oh_Wet's Bevin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
belford wrote:
I agree that all player logins must be tracked in the Uru servers somewhere. That doesn't mean that it's easy to pull it out and merge it with Gametap's regular game-tracking.

But this is all speculation. What Cyan has actually *said* is: "...you should be using the GameTap Interface to log into the game This is an important test for us to make sure that server handling is up to par. I realize that this may mean a long download but the load and feedback we can get while doing this is invaluable to us."

See http://urulive.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5707


This isn't about tracking whether people play Uru or not. It's about reassuring GameTap that people wish to play other games on GameTap's service as well. By making a shortcut directly to Uru Live, you are asserting that that's the only game you're interested in, and that's obviously not something GameTap would like.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron