It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 8:23 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:18 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 12:35 am
Posts: 747
I got the email from GameTap telling me how to change my open beta code into a paid GameTap one. I chose the "99 cents for the first month" option. Am I right in assuming that this will pay for the first month, after which I'll need to re-apply using one of the other plans, right? :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:21 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:48 am
Posts: 935
Location: Northern Colorado
I believe that it will automatically convert into the 9.98/month plan after the first month. But I can't say for sure because I signed up for the half-price year deal back when. :D

_________________
Ki #782729
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 3:03 am
Posts: 783
Ooh! Instructions are out? Awesome! *goes to throw money at GameTap and Cyan*


I've not been playing GameTap proper 'cause I felt vaguely guilty about doing that when I wasn't paying for it... but now it's game time! Woo woo! There goes my week! >>

_________________
I still love my umbrella! :D

Sosiqui in Cavern


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:48 pm
Posts: 34
I'm actually more impressed with GameTap than I thought I would be (I'd been playing with the stand-alone client up until about a week ago). I'm looking forward to playing some old Atari and Intellivision games (which, sadly, gives away my age a bit).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 6:38 pm
Posts: 787
Woot! I tried three times with customer support for them to change my account to a paying one. Glad I finally can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:01 pm
Posts: 127
As Tofer said, your account will automaticall roll over to the $9.95 (.98?) plan. If you want to change your payment plan, say to a six-month or annual plan, you will have to telephone GT's customer support. They will charge your credit card immediately, even if you have time left on the current month, but this does not mean you are double-paying --oh boy.

They take the money right away, but they don't start the clock for the new payment plan till the old one runs out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:37 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 12:35 am
Posts: 747
OK, thanks! :)
I was planning on paying month-by-month anyway. :)
And with the news that debit cards work like credit cards here, I'm in high heaven!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:37 am
Posts: 192
Aaron your not the only one giving away their age. The other day I played Pac-Man, for the first time in probably well over 10-15 years at least. And the last time I played Pac-Man was with my dinosaur Atari 2600 console.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 503
Location: Georgia, USA
I've been doing the same thing since the day of the announcement of the partnership. I signed up for GameTap that day. I liked the old arcade games a lot. It has been a long time since I played Space Invaders. I also tried the Myst series games to see how GameTap did converting them to this new "format". Having RealMyst added recently was quite a treat.

When the half price deal came out, I jumped on it. I'm using my debit card too Gadren.

_________________
Image <--- MINE! The cones are your friends. Have you hugged a cone lately?
mtn'man KI# *was* 66952 | Don't kick the cones, they have feelings too.
Owes andylegate a beer in the pub - patcher fixed!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:05 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:27 pm
Posts: 161
I, too, signed up as soon as I heard about the partnership and half price deal. I haven't regretted a penny of it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:20 pm
Posts: 303
What a wonderful birthday present.

That's right, my birthday is Feb 15th, and as I only have an interac debit card here in Canada, there's no way I can get my GameTap on.

Sucks to be me.

_________________
Avatar: Anaerin
Ki: 118686


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:03 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:53 am
Posts: 859
Anaerin wrote:
What a wonderful birthday present.

That's right, my birthday is Feb 15th, and as I only have an interac debit card here in Canada, there's no way I can get my GameTap on.

Sucks to be me.

'
If your debit card has a Visa or Mastercard logo on it it can likely be used for Gametap. I say try it and see what happens, worst case scenario it says "No"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:20 pm
Posts: 303
macnbc wrote:
Anaerin wrote:
What a wonderful birthday present.

That's right, my birthday is Feb 15th, and as I only have an interac debit card here in Canada, there's no way I can get my GameTap on.

Sucks to be me.

'
If your debit card has a Visa or Mastercard logo on it it can likely be used for Gametap. I say try it and see what happens, worst case scenario it says "No"


Nope, no Visa or Mastercard logos. Like I said, it's an Interac card, which is a debit card, but is only usable for face-to-face transactions (ATM/Store). They're very common here in Canada.

_________________
Avatar: Anaerin
Ki: 118686


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 106
Location: New Jersey, USA
OK, I'm transferring my beta account to a paid account, so let me get this straight:

I want to sign up for the year plan, but....

1. If I pick the 1 year plan, I lose out on the .99 cent first month deal.

2. If I chose the .99 cent 1st month deal, after 1 month it rolls into a
9.98/mth. Then I have the hassle of having to call them to change to the yearly plan at that time.

Correct??

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
Drahcir wrote:
OK, I'm transferring my beta account to a paid account, so let me get this straight:

I want to sign up for the year plan, but....

1. If I pick the 1 year plan, I lose out on the .99 cent first month deal.

2. If I chose the .99 cent 1st month deal, after 1 month it rolls into a
9.98/mth. Then I have the hassle of having to call them to change to the yearly plan at that time.

Correct??

Thanks


You can change your plan online, I believe...

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: