It is currently Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:45 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 149 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 10:52 pm
Posts: 1082
Location: New Zealand
Lule wrote:
stanhin wrote:
I read the entire thread, don't understand a thing in it, but hope it's good news. :D


I'm with you stanhin, and I downloaded the plugin though I don't know what to do with it! :shock:



http://www.guildofwriters.com

_________________
Lian-Li PC-V1000 plus II case, 600W powersupply, Striker Extreme motherboard, Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 CPU, nVidia 8800GTS 512, 2x1GB Corsair memory @ 800Mhz, 5.1 audio, wireless mouse, 200GB main hard disk.
Grogyan KI# 00793984 -> www.guildofwriters.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:35 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Spain
Does anyone know (yet) how to add spawn point ?

_________________
*** If only I was as clever as I think I ought to be ***

and ...

uʍop ǝpısdn ʇsod uɐɔ l 'sǝʎ

Ki # : 02037973


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 12:33 am
Posts: 1182
Location: British Columbia, Canada
boblishman wrote:
Does anyone know (yet) how to add spawn point ?


From memory, I believe it was under Misc->Starting Point.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:27 pm
Posts: 167
There is a tool which fixes and/or warns about a number of the bugs and shortcomings that have shown up in Cyan's plugin. It is very helpful (necessary, in fact :P) for us to create Ages with this plugin. But as many/most know, its discussion is forbidden here, so head over to pretty much any other forum for info. Here's the GoW link: http://forum.guildofwriters.com/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=4250


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 6:30 am
Posts: 34
Hi,

I have 3dsMax 2008. Should the plugins work with this version? I am getting the same error others have reported with the 2009 and 2010 release of 3dsMax:

DLL <C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2008\PlugIns\MaxPlasmaLights.dlo> failed to initialize.
Error code: 127 - The specified procedure could not be found.

Tae

PS: Near as I can tell
3dsMax 2008 is version 10, released in 2007
3dsMax 2009 is version 11, released in 2008
3dsMax 2010 is version 12, released in 2009

Working backwards, I'd say that version 7 of 3ds Max was the version being sold in 2004. Hmm guess that figures.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:16 am
Posts: 296
Location: Avoiding Direct Sunlight
From what I've heard, the plugin only works in 3DS 7 and the one version of 3DS that followed 7. Anything beyond that will need work to make it functional.

_________________
The Starry Expanse Project - Rebuilding Riven!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:00 pm
Posts: 26
A Small question regarding the plugin (and I try not to ask too many but I've been stuck with this one for some time now) :

Were should we put python files so that the plugin can find them ?

I've tried to put .py .pyc and .pak files anywhere I could think of and the plugin doesn't see them.


Also and while I'm at it the "Logic/Python file" component seems to be the only plasma object that refers to python files and I don't see how it can produce a python file mod.

Do you have to:

Attach the "Python file component" to every object you want to be controlled by it. - but then how can you set python parameters like SDL names ?

Attach the "Python file component" to one object and then somehow set the python parameters but where ? (maybe once you point to a python file some other window appear where you can set those ?)

I don't expect a full explanation on how the python files should be implemented but it would be very helpful at least to know how to get them to show up in Max - :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:09 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 11:04 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Atlantis
yes how do you link the Python files to the age.

also how do you create the agename_District_BuiltIn.prp if a recall this is the one that links the age to the agname.py and agename.sdl files or is this not the same any more in uru live.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:16 am
Posts: 296
Location: Avoiding Direct Sunlight
Well when an age is converted for use with older versions of Uru (mysteriously!), doesn't a BuiltIn.prp get generated? If so, couldn't said prp file be edited in PrpFun or whatever you youngsters use for editing your prps these days?

_________________
The Starry Expanse Project - Rebuilding Riven!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:22 am
Posts: 8
Location: Australia
We need Cyan to release their MOULagain python files, but for those who just like to 'fiddle' -

Grab glue.py and the Plasma*.py scripts from an earlier version of Uru and copy them to C:\PlasmaTest\python\plasma\

Any scripts you throw in the top level python folder which contain a class that derives from ptModifier will now appear in the python component drop-down. Selecting a script from this list will bring up more options to set attributes specific to that file.

If your scripts don't show up in the list, check your import dependencies. You will likely also require modules from the python standard library. (string.py, re.py etc.) I assume these can go in the python\system folder to keep everything organized.

More info from Cyan on this would be much appreciated. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:00 pm
Posts: 26
Fantastic ! now we need to figure out how to get the ptResponder working....

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:00 pm
Posts: 26
ok gGot the ptresponders to show up I juts copied all python files that are non age-specific and it worked !

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 7:33 pm
Posts: 125
Location: red square mausoleum
mookow you're the best ^_^


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:22 am
Posts: 8
Location: Australia
AgeNotFound,
ptResponder itself inherits from ptModifier. I should have been clearer, I didn't mean to imply that it didn't work.

Rusty,
Glad to help. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 11:04 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Atlantis
good job

one thing the age i playing with has 2 .py files but only one shows up

one is the main python file the other handles a crackable object this is the one that does now show in list

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 149 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: