It is currently Sat Sep 19, 2020 3:53 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 74
I just contacted GT and the Vista compatible client is coming out on Uru Live Launched date which is February 15th, but they still have not gotten there act together since it will not install on Vista 64-bit of any type, only on the the 32-bit edition's.

It is very odd it don't support 64-bit since it is starting to get more major and I see more and more using a 64-bot OS instead of a 32-bit one since there computer can run both. I can see me and many other's will still be using the Beta Standalone installer since GT screwed up yet again and wont undate there software to insatll on at least Vista 64-bit.

Currently I have been running XP Pro 64-bit for well over a year and so far GT has been just about the only program that refuses's to install for me or even a company that seem's to hate 64-bit so much and not update there software to install on it, even if not all the stuff on there service will run on it. It woudl be good if they released a version that would work even if not all the game's would run on the OS.

Cyan should post an alternate way to play Uru on a 64-bit OS, like post the installer that us 64-bit user's can use, since GT still refuse's to update there software for 64-bit.

_________________
Myst Online Uru Live: 00032946
ID: Data-Stvoy2
"Member of Guild of Greeter's"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
Uru Live is currently not supported on 64-bit versions of Windows.

You can file a ticket about it to show your interest.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 74
If it is not supported then why doe's it run perfectly fine in the OS? I have less problem's w/ it, then I do in the 32-bit Win XP Pro.

Edit: I just checked and it doe's not say it is not supported since it dont specify 32-bit, which then it could mean it support's both version's.

_________________
Myst Online Uru Live: 00032946
ID: Data-Stvoy2
"Member of Guild of Greeter's"


Last edited by sc30002 on Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
Not supported doesn't mean that it doesn't work; it just means that you won't receive any official support for it.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 9:51 am
Posts: 339
Location: California, USA
Considering new PC's are now coming loaded with Vista 64bit, GameTap is going to be in some serious trouble if they can't get their act together.

_________________
StarLion
The Meeting Place Hood


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:25 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:53 am
Posts: 859
I'm sure 64-bit support will come soon, but I'll take 32-bit Vista support rather than no support at all at first.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm
Posts: 3120
Location: Aachen, Germany
supported -> You may blame us when it doesn't run
unsupported -> It may work but don't blame us if it doesn't
experimental -> Try it on your own risk. It may set your hamster on fire.

_________________
Image
[KI again #01792364]| Uru images | KI guide


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 9:51 am
Posts: 339
Location: California, USA
Tiran wrote:
supported -> You may blame us when it doesn't run
unsupported -> It may work but don't blame us if it doesn't
experimental -> Try it on your own risk. It may set your hamster on fire.

Where does "The installer won't allow you to try it" fit into that? I think that's the current frustration, we can't even try it on Vista 64bit because the installer just spews out an "Unsupported Version" message.

I'm tempted to install it on a 32bit box so I can see what happens if I just copy the Gametap folder directly over to a box running Vista 64bit...for all we know it could work just fine.

_________________
StarLion
The Meeting Place Hood


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Atlanta
Only 4 days to wait for Vista support in GT.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:09 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:53 am
Posts: 859
So far I haven't been able to get MOUL to run on the 32-bit version of Windows Vista. Here's hoping they come up with a fix soon..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Vista error
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Anna Paulowna, The Netherlands
I am getting the problem when i run it under vista, and I select my avatar en want to explore i get the following error!!

Exception type: Access violation
Call stack (14 levels):
0x00598CA8
0x00503D4F
0x00550E84
0x00550546
0x00810F87
0x00810BBF
0x008107B4
0x004870A7
0x00486A2A
0x00485C1C
0x0048483C
0x7C34218A
0x77BD7A7E
0x77AA1884


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:10 am
Posts: 122
I was able to avoid stackdumps by setting it to always run as administrator, try it once by right-clicking on the shortcut and selecting "run as administrator" (the one with the colorful shield next to it). This may work, it may not, and I have no idea what'll happen if you try within gametap.

_________________
Qalthos' KI: 00090305
Nait's KI:02363102
"Yeesha Voodoo Bahro Magic"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: I DID IT ALL
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Anna Paulowna, The Netherlands
Run as administrator, give everyone on the map mystonline full right, run as windows xp compatible, turn off glass aero, but nothing seems to help.
HELPPPPP!!!!!! :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:07 am
Posts: 289
Location: Newnan, GA
you need to set both the UruLauncher.exe and Urueplorer.exe files to Windows XP compatibility. if that doesn't work, try setting the uruexplorer.exe file to Windows 98/ME compatibility. (it works fine for me with the two files set to Windows XP SP2 compatibility.)

You will need to do this at the acutal executable files (when you set the shortcut on your desktop to the compatibility it is only affecting the UruLauncher.exe file. find the Uruexplorer.exe file and set the compatibility there and it should work fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: yeahhhh
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Anna Paulowna, The Netherlands
the windows xp compatible doesnt work for me, but the windows 98 me ??? does!!!!! txs
now i can play forever!!! :D :P :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron