It is currently Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:54 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:40 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:17 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Spokane, WA
BrettM wrote:
Deledrius wrote:
I think he was referring to the fact that the coordinates in the silo would place you far below lake level. Among other problems...

The position below the level of the main lake is not necessarily a calibration error. Looking at the history of the district, there are good reasons why the D'ni might have wanted it that way.

It does make it somewhat more difficult to believe that you shouldn't be underwater, and that your pellets are in fact feeding the main lake, though ;).

*waits for someone to mention grease traps ;)*

_________________
Grand Master
Guild of Archivists


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:10 am
Posts: 792
Location: Oz
This topic reminds me that the angles shown on the KI don't match up with other information. If you look at the coordinates shown when you pick up a CGZM, the angle is half a revolution different to what you see on the KI's "GPS". The angles on the markers match up with the numbers on the floor around the GZ beam emitter. (Do the mission with the GZ symbol to see this clearly demonstrated.)

It looks to me like Laxman still has some work to do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:47 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 25
Q1. OK I figured it was time I calibrated my KI since sooner or later I might want to know my co-ordinates. So I did a marker mission. Chose an easy one that had only 8 markers. Found them, came back, stuck my KI in the same machine that I chose the mission form, saw my time, but no calibration. My KI still reads 0:0:0. How many missions do I need to do? Or what step did I miss?

Q2. The symbol appears to show you where to start looking....but most of the other markers appear to be completely random. True?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:21 am
Posts: 508
You have to do all 14 missions to calibrate your KI

THey're sort of random, but there's usually a route to them.

_________________
KI No. 01124295


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:05 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 25
All 14? Ouch. BIG Ouch.

I started one a while back. One marker was below the suspension bridge. I jumped off the cliff where the bridge joined the edge a dozen times and never got it.

Grrrrr. I suppose it gives me something to do in between episodes. Any I grow weary dropping pellets.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:07 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
There are tricky markers in mission 3 and mission 8. You found the hardest - but there is a technique to it. No jumping required...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:42 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:17 am
Posts: 2848
Location: Hilo, I wish...
Rusty_Russell wrote:
There are tricky markers in mission 3 and mission 8. You found the hardest - but there is a technique to it. No jumping required...


In fact, quite the contrary. :)

_________________
Explorer at large

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 3:54 am
Posts: 1816
Location: Right behind you.
Quote:
and that the coordinates aren't functioning in other Ages yet


Was that ever intended? It doesn't make sense to have the GZ emitting coordinates into another dimension. For all we know, the dimension that Minkata exists in may not even have a Great Zero. I think the GZ was specifically meant for the Cavern.

Unless you mean the little Maintainer's marks were emitting coordinates, and so the KI reads them from there...

Hmm...

_________________
I miss my old signature.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:10 am
Posts: 792
Location: Oz
Calam wrote:
Unless you mean the little Maintainer's marks were emitting coordinates, and so the KI reads them from there...

That seems to be the generally accepted theory. I don't remember where it first came from.

BTW, no one's interested in the fact that the GZ appears to be backwards?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:34 am
Posts: 378
Can someone explain to me why the GZ is in it's Next stage, but I still have to run marker missions to view my coordinates?

_________________
KI#: 00944919
Herohtar wrote:
the message in the Episode 6 release notes [sic]...[sic] finally makes sense -- the DRC shipped them off to Halo 3 to "prevent the safety" of players there! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
Hmmm - perhaps so that you can accurately coordinate your new KI with the GZ? What other way could there be for a new explorer to get the coordinate function to function? Or perhaps running the missions helps to maintain accuracy?

Just some thoughts

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:18 pm
Posts: 303
Location: Germany
TheTraveler wrote:
Can someone explain to me why the GZ is in it's Next stage, but I still have to run marker missions to view my coordinates?


The amount of marker missions already done provided the GZ to work/calibrate properly, so that the connection of KI and GZ is established. Doing your own marker mission calibrates your KI.

_________________
Myst Online: URU Live
-Qvist #25056


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:25 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 25
Quote:
There are tricky markers in mission 3 and mission 8. You found the hardest - but there is a technique to it. No jumping required...


Would it be...oh...I dunno [spoiler]just falling?[/spoiler]
Cause if it is, I hain't found the right spot for that either. lol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:33 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
If you can suggest a time convenient for both sides of the pond, I'll show you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks Rusty....I got one last night. I think there is one more in another mission which is got in much the same way. It's actually funny watching people running around the cavern on their own missions, plunging to their deaths after markers that you can't see.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron